Temptation

“The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.  Resist it, and your soul grows sick with longing for things it has forbidden to  itself, with desire for what its monstrous laws have made monstrous and unlawful.” – Oscar Wilde

I finished all the leftover Christmas cookies.

7 responses to “Temptation

  1. Earlier this week, I was trying to eat less sugar, and then today this huge craving for chocolate came upon me. I am with you and Mr. Wilde in solidarity.

  2. It was ice cream. Peppermint ice cream. I found the last half gallon in town. Mea minima culpa.

  3. My Landlady gave me a gigantic tin of cookies for Christmas. I was going to throw it out because “remember you were going to eat better this year?” But a crappy week at work changed all that. There is no better consolation on a cold rainy day than hot tea and Danish butter cookies.

  4. Laurie – it could have been worse; there were only a few leftovers; the white chocolate bark I made (with pistachios and dried cranberries) had quite vanished from this earth long ago.

    shoreacres – it is no one’s fault. We are defenseless against baby animals and ice cream (and in my case, potato salad).

    Hangaku – this year the owner of our apartments gave each tenant a small tin of Danish butter cookies. So nice – and so delicious! Boyfriend and I quite destroyed it shortly after our Christmas breakfast. Holiday memories…

  5. You show that temptation who’s boss! I did something similar involving that pesky cash in my wallet and reindeer ornaments in my favorite store.

  6. I have had more than my share of cookies and all the other things. I do miss them, though *wistful sigh* Good thing I can have more next year! w00t w00t!

  7. I realized I still have pre-packaged tiramisu cake in my desk. It’s been talking to me all day.
    “I can resist anything but temptation.”

Leave a Reply

