It’s A Bird, It’s A Plane

Wingspan Couldn't Fit On My Camera Screen!

Wingspan Couldn’t Fit On My Camera Screen!

It’s pelacanus occidentalis!

It’s both!

4 responses to “It’s A Bird, It’s A Plane

  1. If that’s not essence of Pelican, I don’t know what would be. They’re thick around here right now, and such a joy to watch. It’s clear they fly for fun, sometimes, and they know they’re good at it. Great photo.

  2. Wow! I’ve never seen a pelican here in Connecticut, but I heard one was spotted after Hurricane Sandy on the beach in New London. Nice photograph!

  3. That glide is just spectacular.

  4. shoreacres – I can watch them fly for hours; in formation or individually, skimming the water or diving for their meals. Sometimes the sun will be blotted out momentarily when a crescent of 5 or 10 of them glide across the sky.

    Barbara – Goodness! I couldn’t imagine living without seeing a flight of pelicans once or twice – I’m glad to have provided you with at least one sighting!

    Emmy – Isn’t it? I had read that scientists were worried that the nesting sites of the brown pelican (these are the ones we see) were practically deserted; but that it might be that the El Nino conditions are changing the habits of the baitfish – and the birds are just following the food. Hopefully that’s the case!

Leave a Reply

