A Night Swim

The moon has been in Pisces.  For several days it was a slim crescent, providing just enough light for the starry fish to swim in – breathing in the radiance, the austere, pale light.

The luminous curve did not lie on the left or right side of the capricious satellite.  It was on the bottom:   a drink that will become larger as the moon grows full and generous.  Pisces splashed in the glowing ocean as the astronomers waited, marking its orbit across the arid night sky. Like hooks, their numbers and equations would pull the fish from their tranquil sea, trapping them in a net thrown across the galaxy.

And when the mystic trawl drags them from the bright water they will lay gasping against the sky.  Stars and planets will swirl around fins and gills, edging against scales – glittering like a diamante skin.

The Sea is in the Sky

There was no bait that could lure the fish from the moon’s pretty shores.  They swam throughout the night until the moon became filled with light, forcing Pisces into the dry darkness.  Sprawled in constellations, the fish wait – for the waters to recede, giving them a chance to slip once more into the moon’s shining waves.

8 responses to “A Night Swim

  1. prose=poetry this…reminds that I’m thinking of posting on the stars…that goldmine in the sky… RT

  2. So many times I’ll look up and see if the moon still follows me: I check her progress and what shape she’s taken for the evening. Too bad that when I stop to observe it’s often when I’m in the middle of the street!

  3. Beautiful. The fish here are quiet now. The weather is too cold, they’ve been driven too deeply into the water to be heard. But soon – a month, maybe two – they’ll begin to splash again. I often sit at night with my window open, even in the cold, listening for them.

    But the moon makes up for it in these months, because when the fish are silent, I can lay in bed and watch the moon setting behind the masts. Each season has its delights.

    • I’ve learned to respect each season, and to recognize their little ways. Even summer, which I’ve always detested, has its own outline – its own livelihood, its own colors in the sky.

  4. I really like this line: “Stars and planets will swirl around fins and gills, edging against scales – glittering like a diamante skin”.

  5. Enough light for the starry fish to swim in…oh, I love your writing, Aubrey. Our starry sea has been obscured by clouds. We live in a gray sea, creatures of black and white swimming in snow. Thank you for visiting my blog!

  6. This reminds me of the antikythera mechanism for some odd reason. it just popped into my head…

  7. Loved this. I just found out recently that I’m now a Pisces, LOL so it’s especially relevant.

    “There was no bait that could lure the fish from the moon’s pretty shores”

    Best sentence ever.

Leave a Reply

