A New Room

It’s small.

It’s a little cold.  I’m not sure about the curtains.

I don’t know where to put my books, so for now, please assume that I read, and we’ll leave it at that.

I’ll have to do some cleaning – especially the carpets.  (apparently the previous owners kept a dog)

Shortly, I’ll be able to turn my attention to a subject I planned to write about, before all the mischief occurred and I had to start looking for a new home.  She’s been very patient, waiting for me to write about her – but she’s been waiting for 500 years, so another day or two shouldn’t worry her pretty head.

So there it is.  And here we are.

28 responses to “A New Room

  1. Welcome to the Brave New World. ; )

  2. Nice to see you move in…

  3. Glad you made it out and over and do hope you’ll blog more frequently than at Vox. P.S. It’s a steep learning curve here so better bone up and soon, missy! 😉

  4. Welcome!! So happy to see you!

  5. Ah, there you are! The kittehs and I are settling in.

  6. welcome to the other side, Aubrey! 🙂

  7. Knocks on the door and waits politely on the porch, hopinig Aubrey likes homemade gingerbread.

  8. you can change the unknown icons to monsters (or some other choices):
    My Blog > Dashboard > Settings > Discussion… scroll to the bottom of the page and change the “Default Avatar” selection.

    Nice to see you again. Adding you to my Blogroll & Blog Surfer now.

    • Have I reached you? I hope so – I need help! How in the world does one create a simple Blogroll – one that can keep and display the list of people in my neighborhood? It’s nearly 2AM and I can’t think any more! Thanks- Melinda/Aubrey

      • Aubrey – The WP platform is easy once you get the hang of it and its on-site support fantastic. Go to My Account – Get Support. This will land you on the Support Page with a highly functional Search Bar.

        The Support Page is your best friend. Enter any task, i.e., Blogroll, and it will walk you through the process with well-organized and easy-to-understand instructions AND great screenshots.

        Many have been quivering at the (blogger) engagement required by this platform but as you learn it, you will appreciate it and its superiority over Vox.

  9. You’ll like your new digs soon enough. One becomes used to the noises from downstairs, and eventually the pet smells begin to fade. It’s worth it for the lovely view.

    So glad you’re here!

    (“Blogroll” comes from “Links” on you dashboard thingy. )

  10. Welcome Aubrey,

    I’m here too. I don’t know how to put that little picture up when I leave a comment so for now I’m identity-less. You’ll have this place looking just darling very soon, I know it.

  11. I’m really glad you (and Louise) and the Cafe are here.

  12. Here there be dragons! Enjoy!

  13. Hai! Hai! So glad you made it. Looks like you already found the thing that most helps me feel the connection like I did on Vox. Recent Comments listing. That way I can visit everyone’s blog and see whose been there. Whew!

    As for the blogroll, I repurposed the Meta listings, since I don’t want any of them. Gave it a new title and started adding my own links. You can even make multiple lists by creating different categories of links.

  14. Yay! I would have been so heartbroken if I had lost you as a neighobor.

    Did you figure out the Blogroll? I think I saved some typed-out directions for someone if you want a copy.

  15. hello!, welcome!
    so sorry the red carpet was not in place so hard to get good help these days.
    look on the dressing room table, behind the fruit basket, there should be a bottle of bourbon and a selection of bitters. enough to get started.

  16. Hooray! I’m sure you’ll settle in soon.

  17. You’ll soon make the new space beautiful and comfortable with your words. Glad you’re here.

  18. Hello Aubrey, Well you did it again..love that writing!! Although I do not have my own blog.. at times I read my hubby’s and we share..I just have to tell you -I am so happy to see you here.. and look forward to visiting..your writing diggs deep. CC

  19. Good to see you on here! I just added you to my blogroll. Now I think my neighborhood is complete!

  20. I’m so happy you are here, Aubrey! I can send the Batcat over to squish any buggies lurking in the corners of your new place.

Leave a Reply

