Depressed

I'm not sure.

Maybe it's my back, which I threw out when straightening my pantyhose.

Maybe it's my shoulder, which I pulled by playing tug-of-war with a 10 year-old.  (don't ask)

Maybe it's our summer heat wave which has finally come to bite California in its Southern-most part. 

Maybe it's my hormones, which have been residing in Crazy Town for the past year.

Maybe it's the fact that I've been seeing tragedy in everything I see…an unkept garden, a (my) messy kitchen… 

I'm not at all sure.  All I know is that more than once this week, as I walked home, I looked towards the pale and soothing moon – muscling its way through the late blue sky – for some badly needed comfort.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

18 responses to “Depressed

  1. Maybe it's my back, which I threw out when straightening my pantyhose.
    I am glad that I am not the only one capable of doing that!
    Hope you feeling lighter soon.

  2. Aw darn. Feel better soon. (((hugs)))

  3. Oh Aubrey I commiserate with each one of your points. The sight of the moon can be wonderfully soothing.

  4. Let's not activate something lycanthropic, you have enough trouble already.

  5. Aww, Aubrey. I'm sorry you're having a bad week. If you can find some comfort in the moon, at least it's there for you every night.

  6. ((((((hugs))))) fall melancholia?

  7. I wracked my back getting into bed a couple weeks ago. I was out of commission for three or four days. I wouldn't mind hurting myself while doing something impressive like saving kittens from a fire or foiling a mugging, but it's just embarrassing to hurt myself getting into bed.I hope your back (and shoulder) feel better soon.

  8. I'm so sorry you aren't feeling up to your normally wonderful self. Hang in there and find comfort where you can. I think you can sometimes find it at the bottom of a martini glass.

  9. FDancer – yes, we are united in clothing-related injuries.Suga' – the shoulder is much better, but the back is still a thundering annoyance!Emjay – it was indeed; we all need some lunar comfort now and then.Doug – of course I had to go running to the dictionary, but now that I have, I have to say so far, so good. No need to break out the silver bullets.Laurie – yes, I'm happy to think that it's waiting for me even now.fatacat – it's melancholia only because it isn't fall yet!M—–l – I believe that it's an unwritten law that all back injuries can be traced back to something Silly. I once threw mine out by getting a drink from a water fountain. AmyH – thanks for your wishes, although you have now reminded me just how thirsty I am! A chilled glass of Riesling is almost too heavenly to contemplate.

  10. I'm sending you good juju.I noticed we haven't read of any of your personal adventures lately. Are you not doing them or just not writing about them?I have muscle relaxers and a really good chiro, should you want either. Lemme know.I'm sure you still appear FABULOUS to everyone who sees you.

  11. I really wanted to write about the park Boyfriend and I went to, where we fed the geese, and where one bit me, drawing blood. Savage beast. I would have taken a picture of the offender, as well as his more pacific friends, but since I had forgotten the camera, the story was pushed to the side lines. But we'll go again.

  12. I think we're caught in the doldrums, Ms. Aubrey. I hope your sails fill soon and you glide along under that loving moon where the happy is.

  13. sorry about the attack but I'm glad to know you're still out and about

  14. I hope it passes soon this feeling of out of sorts you are experiencing.

  15. More new shiny, sparkly, crystally, things.

  16. "And when the night is cloudy,
    There is still a light that shines on me,
    Shine until tomorrow,
    Let it be…"

  17. Say hi to the hormones for me, just by chance, mine live there too.
    Feel better, Chica. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

