The Cat In The Window

She might have been waiting for me.  Or I might have just been a clumsy interruption in her morning vista of sidewalk, street and trees.  Her eyes told me nothing.  They were black-lined and Egyptian, catching the sun like very still and very deep waters.  They were amber – the black pupils caught within them like prehistoric insects.

Her presence was feline and dignified.  I walk in front of her and stop – to see if she would recognize me, to wait – perhaps – for some sort of judgement.  She stares at me not without interest; but not, however, with much pleasure.  She is as solid as a statue, as cruel as an icon, as magnificent as a goddess.  Her domesticity insults her; still, it is a very nice thing to sit at a windowsill on a sunny morning.

Sometimes I see her crouched beneath the table, set well back into a Cubist room of crowded squares and rectangles.  Her round, white face is a welcome relief from the shadowy throng.  She is a serene, unblinking oaisis in a forest of furniture.

I look for her always, although I'm sure I bore her.  When I see her, I meow, I say 'kittykittykitty'.  Her marvelous expression does not change.  She waits to see what I'll do next, hoping it proves to be more interesting than whatever I had been doing.

She must know that I admire her misanthropic beauty.  And she came up with a way to thank me:  she never runs away.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 responses to “The Cat In The Window

  1. She waits to see what I'll do next, hoping it proves to be more interesting than whatever I had been doing – lovely. Her Feline Highness is neither easily pleased nor amused. How thoughtful of her to not flee your company.

  2. Wonderful. Somehow the Cubist room fits the Cubist cat attitude perfectly.

  3. i really enjoy your writing, Aubrey. :)you have captured the beautiful essence of greatness and aloofness of the feline "kitty cat" so eloquently.

  4. How good of you to entertain this kitty. It wants your sparkly earrings.
    And, how good of you to entertain us.

  5. A lovely ode to the cat. "She is as solid as a statue, as cruel as an icon, as magnificent as a goddess."

Leave a Reply

