Not A Sunset

When I stood on the cold sand, feeling dusk make the air heavy with shadow, I looked into the sky and did not see a sunset.

I saw an impudent bronzed eye peering through a tattered hem the color of a bruise.  I saw a gleaming pearl, with grasping, purple fingers brushing against it.  I saw pillows of violet froth, ethereal and melting, their edges warmed by the furnace blistering below them.  I saw the golden pea hidden beneath layers of amethyst mattresses and imagined the sleepless princess tossing and turning above them.

I saw plum velvet from the Mauve Age.  I saw gilded borders from the Gilded Age.  I saw gold tissue from a Renaissance bodice.

I saw the shapes and recesses of lavender storms and indigo vapors – living mists blown from a distant shore – that collected thickly around the sinking, tired star.

I did not see a sunset.

So – annoyed perhaps that I did not appreciate its dust molecules, atmospheres, barometers and temperatures – the sunset scowled blackly, dashing its colors on the dark horizon.  It sank beneath the waves, to warm the coral grottos, the hidden fields, and to light a way for the submerged populations.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 responses to “Not A Sunset

  1. I saw an impudent bronzed eye peering through a tattered hemo_OI'm sorry, Aubrey, I couldn't resist. Please don't hate me.

  2. …the golden pea hidden beneath layers of amethyst mattresses and the sleepless princess…My favorite part.

  3. I saw plum velvet from the Mauve Age. I saw gilded borders from the Gilded Age. I saw gold tissue from a Renaissance bodice.

  4. In a way, our lives rotate on an axis as surely as the planets do. One is awed to think that the same sun has been both feared and worshipped by different races ever since the atmospheres parted to reveal that most powerful star.

  5. So true! The sun and the moon and all other planets also govern our emotions and physical conditions in a way. We are, after all, only a small part of the Universe, certainly not the only ruler or favored only child.

Leave a Reply

