A Gift

I'm not sure.

It might have been that I haven't visited her in nearly six months.

It might have been that she was feeling flippant – as I watched her flip surfers into the air.

It might have been because she was appreciative of the respect I give her.

It might have been because she knew I loved her.

I just wasn't exactly sure why the ocean saw fit to give up one of her jewels, and leave it - poised and pretty – for me to find:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 responses to “A Gift

  1. this … this looks like a worn and misshapen shoe, a sandal perhaps.

  2. What is it, Aub? A large half-shell?

  3. I thought it looked like a kind of ragged heart, but in reality it is a fragment of a large shell, possibly sliced from the inside. In the sun, it glinted like steel.

  4. Miss the Oregon shore. sigh*

  5. How amazing, and strange! I love things from the ocean… It's like discovering the inhabitants of an alien planet!

  6. Wow! That is a super shiny seashell. Also, apparently Mother Nature enjoys alliteration. 😉

  7. a one-of-a-kind, hand-crafted gift.

  8. I've always said that even the broken shells are God's treasure. I love finding the shells that are worn thru to the insides, like twisted bones. I totally thought that was a shoe at first too though.

Leave a Reply

