Bunnies And Bonnets

I never completely understood the connection between Spring, Christianity, baby animals as gifts (who like as not were dead by June – what does a child do with a grown-up chicken?  Why ignore it to death, of course), plastic eggs, colored eggs, chocolate eggs and bouffant, springy (ha) dresses.  Really, a celebration of nature's rebirth, of the sun working into the evening seems to me more like a pagan's sigh of relief.

Anyway, there was a time when it all made sense.  When I was two years old, Springtime, soft bunnies, hard dresses, chocolates and church all merged together on Easter:

Candies are not in evidence in this picture because I can safely say that I had already eaten them.

This was also the first day when I would be taken to church.  My godmother made me a dress the color of a melted lemon drop, a liquid pastel; with skirts of organdy and a satin sash with a witty flower at its center.  This was a special occasion, and I was wearing my Very Best Dress.

However.  That morning I howled, I screamed, I cried – so stridently, so purely, so exquisitely, that my parents could do nothing else but haul me – poke bonnet and all – back home.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

20 responses to “Bunnies And Bonnets

  1. *SPLODE* God you were ADORABLE! And LOL at babeh Aubrey logic — CANDY BUNNIES BASKETS: WANT!CHURCH: DO NOT WANT!!!

  2. Aubrey, everything you do is exquisite, I'm not surprised your tantrums were the same.
    That's a lovely photo of you and your dad.

  3. Aaaaah, you were in touch with The Truth, even at such a young age. Should we not all worship you as our Goddess? šŸ˜€

  4. In that dress and bonnet I'd be crying … but those shoes, I'd be howling at such a blood-curdling volume, the congregation would fear a demon has possessed my body. If I were in a church, that is. That is a nice pic with the daddy-o, save for the power line.

  5. What an awesome memory. That you for sharing it. My favorite Easter was with my Grandfather in Piedmont, Missouri. Grandma got me a red polka dot dress very frilly and he took me to a Sunrise Service. Church should always be outside and believe it or not it snowed that morning. That is the day it all came together for me. Love ya, Georgia Happy Easter

  6. Beautiful pictures! I love the lemon-drop color of your dress. You did what all children must do when dressed up and taken to a formal gathering..cry their hearts out. It must be pre-programmed into their brains before birth.

  7. Our Aubrey – born with good taste and good sense! Spring forward!

  8. The dress is fabulous, darling.

  9. Beautiful dress! I love the angle of the color photo (well, I love the angle of the other one too) – you can see all the ruffles and the bonnet just perfectly, and the spring blossoms in the background.

  10. I remember Easter dresses too – I may have even liked mine :/ I also remember being dragged into the twice annual hypocrisy of 'Church'. All the chocolate in the world can't mask that bad taste!I celebrate your tantrums and I celebrate chocolate!

  11. You were such a cutie. I can't help but wonder what upset you so much that your parents had to leave.

  12. I love this story Aubrey, both subject and writing. I like it that you had to be hauled out of church in your finery. In our dresses, I remember my "unlady like behavior" seemed to be more horrifying to the adults than when I wore jeans. As if ribbons and bows made us docile.
    That is a fine photo of you and your father. I like the words "sun working into the evening." If you expanded this some, you could publish it as creative nonfiction.
    Lucy, who had a coat worn only at Easter of yellow wool and a yellow flower comb for her hair, which her mother tortured into curlers Good Friday. The curlers had to be worn all Saturday or else Jesus would be wroth with me. šŸ™‚

  13. I also wanted to add that you were a gorgeous child.
    Lucy

  14. Ooooh, the frilly frocks. I was crazy about them as a kid. You were Diva-esque even then, Aubs. (in a good way, of course!)

  15. smashing outfit!

  16. SO cute, and yet – I hated those dresses and starchy petticoats and snappy elastic bonnet straps and…. can't blame you for having thrown a hissy fit! (Must be that Louise Brooks bob, no?! ;))

  17. Oh Goodness! You are Adorable! That netlike stuff always drove me nuts, it was so itchy!

  18. The dress must have been desparately uncomfortable – a poor exchange for the chocolate eggs and stuffed bunnies left at home. The young Aubrey had not focused on her ecclesiastical beliefs yet, but I do remember the kneeling and rising and what was that about?
    DKN – clean-up on aisle nine!
    Laurie – you should hear from my mother what my tantrums were like: apparently they were epic.
    Lauri – I've thought about it, and yes, worship may begin.
    SweetM – what a lovely memory! Nature celebrating along with you!
    LM – the angle makes me wonder who was taking the picture, and how.
    Lucy – thankyouthankyou! Those words you were nice enough to admire came from a sentence that actually made me rather content. As for your poor hair – plenty of scope for those ribbons and bows, but OW!
    Suga' – Diva-ism is a life-long project. Thank goodness I started early.
    e2c – mother always cut my hair in that Dutch/Brooksie bob – happily prophetic.

  19. What a beautiful pair of pictures, and a wonderful post. As always.
    I'm sure I never wore any fancy dresses to church. I suppose they would have been lovely handmade togs by my mother, but nothing that frilly and 'high-end'.
    As for crying in church, I wish more parents would take their little darlings out when they start acting up during service!

Leave a Reply

