A Distant Message

I'm not a fan of Spring.  It is armed with pastels and mildness, telling you to come on, get up and be happy.  The sky is bright and non-committal.  These are constant reminders to shake yourself out of your Winter depths and step into the new, sunny physicality.

But I have noticed something else about Spring – something that none of the other seasons possess.  These four sisters have their own celebrations, temperatures, colors.  They pulse with their own passions.  And they take breaths that are peculiar to their own personalities.  In Summer, the breeze is sluggish, over-heated:  a thick furnace.  Autumn's breeze is cool and earthy, a growth of harvests, weary trees and dying flowers.  The breezes of winter are plumes of teeth, sharp and biting.

But in Spring, the breeze is light, free and high.  I can imagine it curling in colored ribbons around the tops of trees and the spinning shapes of weather vanes:  ships, gulls, bi-planes…impudently speeding them on.  These breezes are not weighed down with heat; they don't come from the uprooted earth; they are not bitter, spreading from icy jaws.  They run above my reach, distant, and my thoughts can't help but give chase.

They don't come from my city.  They haven't escaped from the gutters, stinking and unhealthy.  They're not born from exhaust pipes or chimneys, heavy with soot – rancid with industry and a careless population.

I've always thought they they came from somewhere far beyond – beyond imagination, skipping past common sense, perfumed Zephyrs arriving from somewhere outside the mind's everyday considerations.  I think they've returned from somewhere afar, bearing gifts and stories from faraway places.   

They could have arrived from fluttering a castle's pennant, coming to me still holding the scent of its mossy walls.  They could have just finished cooling the brows of grazing deer, calming their doe-eyed flightiness.  Or perhaps they come to me after skimming over the surface of a foreign ocean, carrying to me froth, salt, the memories of glittering fish and scarred dolphins.  Maybe they have returned from diving through fields of tall, fragrant grass, holding the microscopic seeds of future acres.  Or have they come back from holding aloft an eagle hunting above a distant land, balancing each pinion on a cushion of air…and perhaps they are bringing back a dappled feather for me. 

Did these breezes hear distant music – could they carry to me the ethereal strings, the pretty notes – and when they see me let a symphony settle gently on my shoulders?  Did it travel by night – was it cooled by the stars?  Did it dazzle the flowers – so that they couldn't help but ride along?

How far and wide does a Spring breeze roam?  So vastly, so boldly, that only a dream can grab hold to it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 responses to “A Distant Message

  1. Wonderful! But your writing is always full of wonder & discovery. Thanks for sharing your gift with us!

  2. Aww this is making me miss Spring … and I am not a Spring girl. I used to be a Summer girl. Now I think I am a Winter girl in my heart and inclinations and a seasonless girl in practical reality.You see so beautifully Aubrey.

  3. All of that mystery and more.

  4. Oh man that was awesome! Very poetic. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. indeed, you paint with words. lovely.

  6. Simply lovely, dahlink. Thank you for giving us this to read, on this fine spring morning.

  7. [isto Ă© bom]

  8. So beautiful. I like the hint of green in the spring breeze, but nothing, nothing compares to the monsoons. I can't help wondering how you would write about them, bringing all that enchantment to words.

  9. Beautiful spring breeze you brought to us with words!

  10. " They're not born from exhaust pipes or chimneys, heavy with soot – rancid with industry and a careless population."

Leave a Reply

