The Moon Walked Me Home

I've never seen an eclipse, and I was pretty sure that I wouldn't be watching that shadow in the sky tonight.

For one thing, I had no idea where I should look.  Up certainly, but from there…where?  I left work at about 6:20PM and immediately started staring into the sky, in a sort of planetary panic.  Street lamps – with their globes of yellow light – and the spotlights illuminating billboards suddenly became lunar assemblies; confusing me until I had no idea where to look next.

I turned a corner and had walked some steps when I finally saw it, winking at me, from the corner of my eye.  A pretty sliver of white light, escaping from the rest of the moon, partially hidden by Diana's charcoal-colored veil.  It wasn't late, people were still on the street:  couples walking slowly, at a post-work pre-dinner pace…and yet no one looked up.

When I had to make another turn, I did so unwillingly.  I had no desire to turn my back on this celestial production, courtesy of the invisible wheels and pulleys of the blue, roaring universe.

I was walking for some time before I became aware of something following me.  And to my great joy I saw the moon, its light pared down to a strip of glowing ribbon, flying at my shoulder – following me home.

She would hide behind apartments, houses and trees.  She would wait – ever polite – if I waited. And when I started walking once more, I would see her, keeping a respectful distance behind me.  I saw stars, cold and glittering pin-pricks in the sky, surrounding the moon as if amazed at her daring.  Once, I saw her float behind a ragged cloud, and it looked as if she was melting into a gray froth.

Finally I reached my street, and I had to turn my back on my friend.  I did so quickly, without looking back.  I hate long good-byes.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 responses to “The Moon Walked Me Home

  1. Totally brilliant. Thanks.

  2. life patted me on the back several times trying to direct my attention to the eclipse but i still missed it. i selfishly hope it was cloudy here lol.thanks for the story though, aubrey. it was very beautiful. πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful, as always! πŸ˜€ Have you ever had anything published? You really could be a professional writer!

  4. I agree with the previous commenters – if you're not professionally published, you should be! Wonderful.

  5. It was a very good eclipse, wasn't it? Only here? It was also crazily cold, so the best I could do was wrap in a blanket and stand out in my driveway for a minute at a time. The moon was being eclipsed directly over my house, and there was something comforting about the process; ancient and dependable. I wanted to hug it.

  6. "I see the moon and the moon sees me and the moon sees someone I'd like to see…" πŸ™‚

  7. Beautiful post. I looked through all my windows and couldn't find the moon; had to abandon the search with great regret.Thank you for taking us with you.

  8. Thank you! It just so happens that I have done a very nervy thing and taken a few of my posts, dusted them off, slapped them about, kicked them into shape, and submitted them to a few magazines. It was something I promised myself that I'd do this year.
    Dear, sparkling pyrit: I spent good time looking that up! Anyway, I made this up: "When it was June and my heart was free I roped the moon and dragged it to tea".

Leave a Reply

