“Are You Ready To Be Merry?”

You know, in some of my more dour moments, I've reflected on how few friends I really have.  Ultimately it was all my choice, but still, it seemed to make the winter evenings just a little darker.

Then – and this must have been a couple of days ago – I realized that not only do I have friends, I have neighbors, and I speak to them nearly every day.  Plus, I know how very few of them look, which makes it even more delicious.

I have HORDES of friends.  They live close by, they live in Canada, Australia, Scotland, England, France and India.  And each one is rather spectacular.  So in a way, I made this card (thank you, Peg O' My Heart) for me as much as for all of you:

And if that isn't enough for you, then stuff this in your stocking:

I have slain the grinch,
I have broken his spell
I am the warrior of Christmas,
The world we will tell

Christmas time
We will free your mind
Let love un-wind

The warrior of Christmas
Has cast out the neon prince.
Hail the new Klaws
Your hair he will rinse

Silver bells fall from your nose,
Santa Klaws will mist your toes
Rudolph's found the emperor's clothes

Blitzen, let's explode!
Joy to the world!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

17 responses to ““Are You Ready To Be Merry?”

  1. Yar! Monstahs o' tha deep!Very nice. 🙂 Have a great holiday yourself. :))

  2. yaaaaar! yaaaaarrrrg!The same to you, o wittiest Aubs.

  3. During the holidays, you're never alone…because there may be a kraken lurking underneath you. He looks like a festive, helpful creature–Kris Kraken?
    I'm just flushed with pride you liked my little photoshop exercise enough to use it on your card! Thank you!

  4. Love it! Happy Holidays!

  5. I prefer to think it is your high standards of who qualifies as a friend. So therefore that makes your Vox friends pretty special – just like you are to us.
    Merry Squidmas to you, Aubrey.

  6. In our day to day lives, it is very hard to find what Anne of Green Gables called, Kindred Spirits- the weird interwebs makes it so you punch in a Tag word, and a host of potench kindred spirits are there to choose from. Long live the 'Net! I think YGRS had this on her blob: I love my computer, my friends live in there! I'm so glad you are in my neighborhood! Happy Merry Joy Joy and All That! Apparently I can't type anything without these–> !!!!

  7. Hee hee hee – ferocious monsters lurk in The Deep, where many brave hearts are asleep. (My dad was a career Merchant Marine guy, so I come by this kind of corniness honestly…) Ride the crest, Aubrey, and don't let the krakens get ya down!As for hoods and friends, we're delighted with you, y'know, so the feeling is msot mutual.

  8. Awww. Thank you muchly, Aubs, and Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to you.

  9. I believe that very important is to have one but true friend instead of crowd of people that even can't help in a difficult situation.

  10. I am proud to call you my friend.
    I blogged the post–had to. It's delicious.

  11. Thank you for this post, Aubrey. I shall now dub you Christmas Queen of Vox!

  12. Muah Aubrey, love the card and love to be in the hordes of vox friends! Merry xmas.

  13. Ah, the Christmas squid. It warms the cockles of me 'eart, it does. Merry Xmas to you in sunny and weird LA! If my knee weren't still messed up, I'd make a snow angel for you.

  14. hehe. nice card.mmm, calamari. 🙂

  15. I hope you had a simply spliffy Christmas, dear Aubrey!

  16. sorry I missed this – hope your holidays were/are great!

  17. I'm late to the Christmas greetings, but the sentiments are lovely year-round. I'm glad to consider you a friend as well. One of these days I'll trek over from sunny Phoenix to sunny LA and present my greetings and salutations in person.

Leave a Reply

