Battles of Emotion

I collect World War One postcards.  I have a book full of sad expressions, seen on one side of the card, read on the other.  War strains the body, the mind, the heart.  Sometimes it destroys them altogether.

A few of my postcards have correspondence written on the back – a student's handwriting in Gothic curlicues, a farm boy's misspelled print.  A husband's wry greeting ('Dear Wife'), a son's report ('also strained a sinew'). 

Though different, they are all examples of emotions stretched taut as a soldier's line of communication with his loved ones is extended over trenches, barbed wire, blasted forests, oceans, danger and loneliness.  Running low to the ground, sentiments of all nationalities traverse numerous No Man's Lands and pass, shuddering, by the charnel houses of Verdun, the Somme, Gallipoli and Ypres (pronounced like a sigh of despair) until they reach their individual safe havens.

I'm lucky to have in my collection a correspondence between Herbert and Nell – their affection having traveled via a 3 1/2" x 5" magic carpet made of cardboard – I have four cards from battlefront to homefront.  I'm sure (I hope!) there are more.  I'll present one here:

My Dearest Nell
These words are just my thoughts dearie as my heart dearie is always with you, and I am always thinking of you & I know you are of me, roll on the time when I shall see you again, I am simply longing for it, it will be all the nicer when we do meet wont it love.  Good bye just for a little while
Your devoted love
For Ever
Herbert
XXXXXX

Another example of the emotion of battle probably never happened.  Many histories of World War One mention it, and then dismiss it:  a high-ranking officer was being driven – with difficulty – to the battlefront, after the Battle of Passchendaele had churned it into an earthy stew.  As conditions worsened, he eventually burst into tears, crying, 'My God, did we really send men to fight in that?"

I think in the thousands of years of warfare this must have happened – many, many times – those that witness such devastation are so overcome that they can only find solace, and escape, in tears.

That are many things about war that should be remembered.  Maps.  Arrows.  Battles.  Geography.  Statistics.  Strategies.

But what must be remembered are the faces – and what the eyes saw, and what the lips said, the blood that was red - not black or sepia - the flesh that was once warm, and then abruptly turned cold; the emotions traveling from one front to the other and the sea of hands extended; desparate to receive them. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 responses to “Battles of Emotion

  1. Thanks. A while ago my uncle found a bag in the attic containing all the letters he and my aunt had written to eachother during his service as a police officer in post-war germany. I don't know what the letters said, but they were both tearful, thoughtful and happy after reading them. Sometimes I wonder what we in the email times loose out on…?

  2. Beautiful. Thanks for such a poignant post.

  3. I love stuff like this! Beautiful!I saw a documentary about "no mans land" they mapped it out and dug it up, finding men, and a lot of debris, and even the wood planks they walked on in the trenches. It was very interesting, also I think I saw a movie recently about this era, with Audrey Tautou (sp?)

  4. If you haven't seen it already you might like this blog.

  5. epistolary romances were such hallmarks of combat life in that era – we should compare notes, my fellow historian.

  6. I've been making a casual study of WW1 for the past several years. It's good to see tangible bits of life from it.

Leave a Reply

