Saving Face

IslandGirl has decided to give in to the sin of sloth:  instead of seeking knowledge, of giving herself dreams and goals, she has seen fit to fling out blog assignments to her readers – flinging them out with such wild abandon, you would think they were frisbees.

My assignment was to commit a self-portrait.  Now I don't know how IG knew it, but I CANNOT DRAW PEOPLE.  It is a drawback as deeply ingrained as my legendary mathematical retardation.  

So this afternoon, as I tried – three times – to slap my face onto paper, I was able to find the time to say, 'Thank you, IG, thank you so bloody much.'

Doesn't look finished?  Well, I know when to leave a party – if it starts to get ugly, and I'll say right here that the mouth and chin were giving me a damn lot of trouble - attendees should be long gone.

Besides, I choose to hide behind the honorable phrase, 'Artistic License'.  Which means:  'Let the viewer beware.'

IG, I want my revenge.  To paraphrase Blackadder, eternity in the company of Beelzebub and all his hellish instruments of death will be a picnic compared to five minutes with me and the pencil I used to draw this self-portrait.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 responses to “Saving Face

  1. Ooh, that's lovely. That it's unfinished just gives it an air of mystery.
    Nice haircut too.

  2. Oh, I love it!!! Well done.

  3. Rockin' the enigmatic look, eh, Miss Aubs?

  4. ooooh! aubrey, it's wonderful. thank you, wow! i like the expression. um…that's not a *glare* is it? and it wouldn't be directed at anyone in particular…? *swallows nervously*

  5. I love it too Aubrey! I love the simplicity of it, the unfinished-ness of it, the *glare* (haha IG).
    And you know what doesn't kill you makes you stronger…haha.
    I really like it.

  6. Excellent job Aubrey, and I love the Black Adder reference.

  7. Thanks!
    The 'glare' is more like mis-guided sophistication. We're all confused sophisticates here, anyway.
    pyrit, the avatar idea had me thinking, but I couldn't replace a Beardsley illustration with a scribble of my threatening mug. Couldn't!
    Philhellene: The quote just fell in my lap – it was too perfect.
    Oh, and I think I need a haircut.

  8. [this is awesome sauce] Fantastic! This is pretty stupendous. As for being a confused sophisticate, I'm sure I don't know what you're talking about, dahhhlink.

  9. as someone who wouldn't even be able to do the outline of your hair, I say "hey, great sketch"!

  10. hey that's quite good so far.. lol ig: someone's getting glared at!! 😛

  11. Wow. First visit here – by way of Emily Sears. HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    That's a wonderful drawing!
    I'm glad you stayed with the eyes/hair/nose primarliy- chins lead to all manner of mischief.
    I'm going to Neighbor you now. 🙂 I hope that's OK. r.

  12. i thought you were resting on your arm! i didn't know it's unfinished :/vu

  13. i like it too! i like the unfinished, enigmatic "confused sophisticate" look.

Leave a Reply

