QotD: You’re Not From Here Are You, Son?

How have people mispronounced your name?  How is it supposed to sound? 
Submitted by Lorie.   

My last name has been mispronounced and misspelled for as long as I can remember.  My FIRST name has been misprounouced and mistaken for every other name but the correct one.  Oh, it used to make me want to set my hair on fire.

If I had a Vox friend for every time I had to say "spelled with a 'G', not 'J'", my hood would need its own zip code.  If you were hooked on phonics, the first syllable of my last name would be pronounced, "gee-or". (said with a soft 'g')  If you wanted to pronouce it in a way that I'd answer you, you'd say "jor".  But that's not the bally way you spell it.

But I accept the fumbling with an Italianate name.  But my first name…you only have one chance to get it right, before I run you out of town.  It's not MELISSA.  It's not LINDA.  It's not MELANIE. It's not BELINDA. 

(sigh) But you can call me Aubrey for now.

Now, the caption I chose really referred to my father.  He was a disc jockey in the early 1950's, spinning cool jazz tunes in central California.  But the radio elders decided that his last name was too ethnic for the porcelain ears of the Santa Barbara listening public.  So, if you had KCSB-FM on in the midnight hour, you'd be listening to 'Nick's Nitecap', hosted by Nick Jordan. 

When he left, he took his records with him, so I have them now:  Chet Baker, Lennie Neihaus, Gerry Mulligan, Cal Tjader.  But I do wish I had recordings of his show!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses to “QotD: You’re Not From Here Are You, Son?

  1. How wonderful to have the actual records your dad used as a DJ! Do you remember listening to his show while you were a child?

  2. He was DJ-ing before I came to set the world to rights. I have the feeling that he was very m-e-l-l-o-w…
    The records play very well, only one skips – "Gerry Mulligan Live At (Somewhere)". They're the old Fantasy Records, so the plastic is red, green and gold.

  3. dad was a dee-jay? in the fifties? manohman, parents don't get any cooler than that.

  4. I got it. Belanie Georgiani.[heehee!]Yes, *very* cool parents.

Leave a Reply

